ZORA AND ME Winner, Plus an Update

Hi all! I don’t have an MMGM today, but I promised I’d announce the winner of my ZORA AND ME giveaway at noon today. Drum roll, please …

Melanie Conklin!

Thanks to everyone who entered. To those who didn’t win, I hope you’ll check out the book anyway.

In other news, this week is crazy as I’m trying to finish up my revisions and also preparing for our church Christmas show this weekend. I’m one of those people who loves to play but hates to practice. However, we recruited several college students this year, and while I don’t mind if the professional violinists are better than me, I feel the need to be better than the students. Perverse of me, isn’t it? Anyway, it should be fun.

The revisions are going … slowly. It took me a while to wrap my head around what I’m trying to do, but I’m in the home stretch now. It’s still a bit of a mess, but I’m feeling more and more confident that this change was necessary. I’ll give more details once I’m finished.

For now, though, I’d better get back to it. Happy writing, all!

About Michelle I. Mason

I'm a full-time writer, focusing mainly on middle grade and young adult fiction with some freelance PR writing and editing on the side. I'm also a wife, mom, Christian, violinist, avid reader and St. Louis Cardinals fan. And I watch way too much TV.
This entry was posted in MMGM and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ZORA AND ME Winner, Plus an Update

  1. Congratulations, Melanie! Sounds like I’ll be checking a copy of ZORA AND ME out from the library… 🙂

    Great idea to recruit some college students for the orchestra! Did you study music in college?

    • I thought about minoring, but I didn’t love it quite that much. I played in the concert orchestra (the one that only met three hours a week versus six) and was even concertmaster my senior year. I had a scholarship that covered the cost of that class and my private lessons.

      I love this time of year because the Christmas music actually challenges me, although our director did take out that awful section that should never have been written for a church orchestra. Thank goodness!

  2. Yay! Thank you so much Michelle 🙂 I have a nearly empty TBR shelf, so I’m very excited to have a great new book to read.

    Krista–I may send you my own MG novel as a substitute–for #Pitchwars! 🙂

  3. Good luck with the revisions! I’m making a major change in my middle grade, too, changing from third person to first person. It is lots of work, but I’m feeling so good about my new draft!

  4. Joanne Fritz says:

    Congrats to Melanie. And best of luck with your revisions. I’m in the throes of that, myself.

Leave a Reply

