Middle Grade Review, Reviews

MMGM: EVERBLAZE, BALANCE KEEPERS, and THE MAP TO EVERYWHERE

Today I’m continuing my reading roundup with middle grade books–because of course my reading extravaganza included a few of those. I wish I had the time to give them full reviews, but alas, still speed-reading.

Of course I have to start with the book by MMGM founder Shannon Messenger. EVERBLAZE is the third installment (and thankfully not the last!) in the Keeper of the Lost Cities series. You can read my reviews of books one and two for an idea of why I love this series so much. Basically the same reasons hold true for this third book, and I’m excited to see where Shannon takes it in the next book (and maybe even more??)!

Everblaze by Shannon MessengerSophie Foster is ready to fight back.

Her talents are getting stronger, and with the elusive Black Swan group ignoring her calls for help, she’s determined to find her kidnappers—before they come after her again.

But a daring mistake leaves her world teetering on the edge of war, and causes many to fear that she has finally gone too far. And the deeper Sophie searches, the farther the conspiracy stretches, proving that her most dangerous enemy might be closer than she realizes. 

In this nail-biting third book in the Keeper of the Lost Cities series, Sophie must fight the flames of rebellion, before they destroy everyone and everything she loves.


THE FIRES OF CALDERON is the first in the Balance Keepers series by Lindsay Cummings, and I can tell it’s going to have wide appeal. My first thought upon finishing the book was that I needed to make sure our school library has ordered it because I could already think of some kids who would like it. It has adventure, magic, creatures, friendship–all the great things an MG reader loves. A must-read!

The Fires of Calderon by Lindsay CummingsWhen eleven-year-old Albert Flynn follows a mysterious map deep into the woods, and then under the woods, he discovers he’s a Balance Keeper—someone with special magical skills for keeping harmony in fantastical underground worlds. Together with his teammates Leroy and Birdie, Albert must master his magical talents in time to stop the fires in the Calderon Realm from destroying New York City above.

 

 


I requested this last one because an agent I follow on Twitter (can’t remember which one now) said how much she(?) loved it even though she doesn’t usually read middle grade. (Really wish I could remember who to thank for the recommendation!) I loved the two main characters, Fin and Marrill, the magical places they visited in their quest to find the various pieces of the map, and the unique way the map itself worked. Plus, the ending left me wanting more. Actually, now would be good :). Definitely pick this one up!

The Map to EverywhereTo master thief Fin, an orphan from the murky pirate world of the Khaznot Quay, the Map is the key to finding his mother. To suburban schoolgirl Marrill, it’s her only way home after getting stranded on the Pirate Stream, the magical waterway that connects every world in creation. With the help of a bumbling wizard and his crew, they must scour the many worlds of the Pirate Stream to gather the pieces of the Map to Everywhere — but they aren’t the only ones looking. A sinister figure is hot on their tail, and if Fin and Marrill can’t beat his ghostly ship to find the Map, it could mean the destruction of everything they hold dear!


Have you read any of these yet? If not, I hope I convinced you!

5 thoughts on “MMGM: EVERBLAZE, BALANCE KEEPERS, and THE MAP TO EVERYWHERE”

  1. Yes, you did convince me. I already have EVERBLAZE. It’s in a stack of books waiting to be read, though it’s pull is much stronger. Your other two recommendations I had not heard of, but they sound like they would be worth my time. Thanks for heads-up and Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. I loved Shannon’s first two books and hope to get to Everblaze soon. The Map to Everywhere looks intriguing. Thanks for the mini-reviews. My time-crunched life appreciates the brevity.

Leave a comment